The dog ate a stick of butter yesterday.

Paper and all.

I had just two sticks left, and they were sitting on the kitchen counter, coming to room temperature. Visions of chocolate chip cookies had danced in my head.

“Had” being the operative word.

Thank goodness my pup woofed down that butter! Otherwise, I wouldn’t have been eating cookies for breakfast this morning!

As I flipped through my Dorie Greenspan Baking book in search of a suitable chocolate chip cookie alternative, I came upon her recipe for Chockablock Cookies. Only 4 tablespoons of butter needed, and a whole lot of really healthy stuff I had sitting in my pantry. In fact, as I began concocting the cookie batter, it struck me …

These would be awesome for breakfast!

Think about it. They have all the necessary components:

  • Oats? Check.
  • Fruit? Check.
  • Nuts? Check.

Sure, there’s butter (and a pretty sizable helping of chocolate chips), but no more than most muffin recipes require. Plus, there’s no whole milk and a fraction of the refined sugar usually found in baked goods.

Am I rationalizing? Of course! But Chockablock Cookies got my little one out of bed on time this morning.

I wonder if he’d like some eggs and bacon to go with his breakfast cookies …

Cookies Fit For Breakfast (Dorie Greenspan)

Don’t get too knocked out about the quantities called for here. Use what’s in your pantry and/or what you like. No coconut? No problem! Only dried apricots or prunes? Cut ’em into pieces, and they’ll be fine. Do you want less chocolate and more fruit in your breakfast cookie? Knock yourself out!

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 4 tablespoons solid vegetable shortening
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup molasses (not blackstrap)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped nuts (I used pecans)
  • 1 cup dried fruit (I used a mix of raisins and dried cranberries)
  • 2 cups chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut (either sweetened or unsweetened is fine)

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In a mixer, beat the butter, shortening and sugar until creamy. Add the molasses and beat until it’s fully incorporated.

Add the eggs, one at a time, beating about 1 minute after each addition.

Add the flour mixture and beat on the lowest speed only until everything is incorporated.

Add the oats, nuts, fruit, chips and coconut. Beat on low speed until everything is mixed in.

cookies1

Drop large mounds of the batter (2 tablespoons) on your baking sheets. Bake for 7 minutes, then rotate the sheets so the side at the back is now at the front and vice versa. Bake 7 more minutes.

Remove from the oven. Cool for 5 minutes, then place on a rack to cool completely. Transfer to an airtight container when done.

cookies3

