I woke up with a sore throat this morning, which only means one thing …

There will be steak for dinner.

I’m a firm believer in the power of red meat to cure whatever ails you. But what I really love is the accompanying side dish:

pot5

My baked potato smash.

It couldn’t be simpler. Take four Yukon Gold potatoes, halve them, and boil until tender.

Tumble them into a greased casserole dish, then smash them with a potato masher:

pot2

Douse with olive oil, 2-3 cloves of garlic, salt and pepper:

pot3

Dollop on sour cream, sprinkle with paprika and shower on the herb of your choice:

pot4

Then bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

The potatoes emerge hot, fragrant and slightly crusty … perfect with Delmonico steaks and sauteed broccoli rabe.

My sore throat feels better already!

