I believe in dinner.

In the power of the table.

In the community that’s created by the sharing of a meal.

***

I believe in grace.

In giving thanks.

In the communion that occurs by the blessing of a meal.

***

I believe in family.

In gathering together.

In the conversation that develops over the course of a meal.

***

I believe in nourishment.

In nurturing.

In the physical and psychological well-being of partaking in a meal.

***

I believe in cooking.

In the fruit of the earth and the power of flame.

In the alchemy that transforms flavor and texture into a well-rounded meal.

***

I believe in time.

That there’s always enough.

That the tasks abandoned as we come to the table will still get done.

And if they don’t; well, something bigger is at stake.

Community.

Communion.

Conversation.

***

I believe in dinner.

