“Grandma says I’m a picky eater!”

She juts out her chin, purses her lips and continues to tell me why she cannot, must not, will not eat green eggs and ham.

“Those would make me sick!”

Her classmates agree.

“Eeewwww!” they say in unison. “We’re not eating that!”

dr. seuss
Happy birthday, Dr. Seuss!

Alas for my lesson plan on Dr. Seuss. The 10 4-year-olds in my preschool class are not impressed with Sam I Am … or any of his ilk.

“It’s just food coloring!” I tell them. “It has no flavor.

“Besides, you eat cookies with green icing!”

Silly Ms. Susan. Those are cookies. These are eggs. And eggs shouldn’t be green.

‘Tis true, ’tis true: We eat with our eyes. And my preschool class is not impressed with the appearance of their eggs.

I bet they’d like these, though:

egg salad1

A silken bowl of hard-cooked eggs, mashed with mustard, sour cream and capers, then sprinkled with a shower of rust-colored sumac. We ate them for dinner last night with vegetables, fruit and an assortment of crackers.

It was a simple dinner — perfect after a day of wrangling little ones.

And it was lovely.

Even if it wasn’t green.

Capered Egg Salad (Adapted from “The Flavors Of Bon Appetit, 2001”)

The original recipe casts this dish as deviled eggs. I forego the tediousness of trying to peel perfect eggs, scooping out the yolks, then piping the filling back in the egg halves. It’s just as delicious turned into a more traditional egg salad.

  • 9 hard-boiled eggs, peeled
  • 4 1/2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 3 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 3 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 3/8 teaspoon dried mustard
  • 3 tablespoons minced green onion
  • 6 teaspoons drained capers

Place all the ingredients in a bowl. Mash well, then taste for seasoning. Add salt and pepper; add more lemon juice if desired. Sprinkle the egg salad with sumac or sweet paprika and serve immediately.

egg salad2

