“We planted the peas too late this year,” the husband said. “I don’t think we’re going to get many.”

Apparently, he was wrong. Whether they’re stir-fried, steamed or basted in a grill pan with olive oil and herbs, we’ll eat peas for dinner tonight!

I love these sugar snaps we get from High Mowing Organic Seeds in Vermont. Loaded with sunshine and natural sugars, I can eat a cup for only 35 calories and get a much needed boost of potassium, iron and Vitamin C.

The only downside? We have to eat them quickly, before they turn from sweet to starch.

That’s okay. Peas are versatile vegetables. I can steam them, stir-fry them or grill them ’til they’re slightly caramelized. I can tuck them raw into salads or simply eat them out of hand. Sometimes I sprinkle them with cheese and breadcrumbs; sometimes I puree them with lemon and garlic.

What I can’t do is overcook them. Sugar snaps need the merest hint of heat: Just a few seconds in boiling water for blanching; only a few minutes to bathe in hot sesame or olive oil.

It’s true: We did plant the peas a little late this year.

Thank goodness they don’t know that!

