I woke up last night/this morning around 12:30 a.m. I was in a cold sweat about things I haven’t taught my son.

Does he know how to balance a checkbook?

Does he know his ATM PIN?

Does he know how to use an ATM?

“Yeeees,” the husband groaned as I punched him awake. So I moved on to more mundane worries.

He’ll need a bag to carry his laundry to the laundry room … not just a laundry basket. Where can I get that?

He needs plastic drinking cups. And bottled water. And rain boots (we still haven’t bought rain boots). Maybe some bookends. (Do dorm bookshelves have bookends?) Definitely spiral notebooks. Probably one for each class, so we should get those before he leaves …

… at which point the husband punched me and told me to please, please, please go back to sleep.

Yes, I know I need to extricate my maternal claws from this boy. Chances are, he won’t overdraw his checking account. He’ll remember his PIN. He’ll find ready supplies of bottled water and pick out his own spiral notebooks. And he probably doesn’t give a rat’s ass about bookends (or rain boots for that matter).

But  I worry. It’s part of my job description.

Thank goodness I don’t have to worry about dinner. With massive amounts of fish from our vacation lolling in the freezer and a garden overflowing with zucchini and the first of the heirloom potatoes, the question of what to make is moot.

fish kabobsLast night it was tuna kabobs: Chunks of black-fin tuna, zucchini and par-boiled potatoes laced on metal skewers and brushed with a lime vinaigrette. After 4 minutes on the grill, I plopped them on a platter, drizzled them with green herb sauce and set them on the table.

The fish was slightly smoky; the squash still slightly crunchy; the potatoes tender and earthy. All in all, a healthy, tasty dinner.

Nothing to wake up and worry over.

Fresh Fish & Vegetable Kabobs

  • 1 pound fresh tuna
  • 6 small potatoes, cut in half
  • 2 medium zucchini
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Place the potatoes in a saucepan and cover with cold, salted water. Bring to a boil, then simmer until the spuds are just fork tender. Drain and cool.

Cut the tuna into ribbons or chunks. Dry well and season with salt and pepper.

Thread the tuna, zucchini and potatoes onto metal skewers.

Whisk together the lime juice and olive oil, season it with salt and pepper, then brush it on the skewered fish and vegetables.

Heat your grill to high. Place the skewers on the grill grate and grill for 2 minutes. Flip them over and grill 2 minutes more.

Move the skewers to a platter. Serve as is, or drizzle with green sauce.

This serves four worry-free people.

